Skip to main content

Reply to this post | See parent post | Go Back
View Post [edit]

Poster: grendelschoice Date: Feb 18, 2008 2:00pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Reviewing shows(again!)

Well, I never thought this would happen.

I actually agree with Tito on this one. I depend on the show reviews and far FAR too often there are 5-star reviews for shows that are 3-star at best. And it's true, I don't care what your experience was heading to/during the show. I want an OBJECTIVE review of the material: sound quality of the DL and especially performance.

Look, I saw dozens of shows in 1985 and had a blast at every single one. But if I were to review most of those shows I'd have to admit they were 2 to 3-star shows at best. They sucked big time for a lot of reasons in '85, leading up to Jerry's coma. Ditto '86 before he got his chops back. And 1993-'95? Any time I see a 5-star review for ANY show in those years I turn away b/c I know it's a crock.

That being said, Tito, you're a fucking prick for being so high and mighty about your "political Know-how"....If people want to vote for Obama it's not b/c Mickey Hart told them to. And there are dozens of countries that have had or do have female Presidents/Prime Ministers, so the world would not think we were a "joke" for having a female president. (And btw, I wouldn't vote for Hillary OR Obama...the only viable Dem. I liked was Joe Biden b/c he has experience and compassion and actual ideas (see: Iraq).

And if you're concerned about people thinking the USA is a fucking joke look no further than a President who says "The Children IS our future" during a speech on education, still says "new-Kew-ler", and started a war based on a fucking lie that has no end game and is costing the nation $6 Billion A MONTH to fight.

That's a fucking joke. Your racist/misogynistic rants would be a joke, except that they're just not funny.

Good call on the reviews, though.

This post was modified by grendelschoice on 2008-02-18 22:00:59

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Tito&Smokey..... Date: Feb 18, 2008 2:18pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Reviewing shows(again!)

i couldnt agree more with your take on Bush....or the whole republican party in general....im just telling you how it is. I didnt say Obama wouldnt be a good president,all i said was that he has no chance of winning because he is black.None.......A Kansas city Royals fan knows that the Royals have no chance this year of winning the World Series, but that bdoesnt mean hes not a Royals fan, he's just a realist.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: grendelschoice Date: Feb 18, 2008 2:24pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Reviewing shows(again!)

There is every reason to believe Obama has at least a fighting chance, especially b/c if nothing else he's inspired young people, who--if they actually get out and vote for a change instead of sitting around fucking with their Ipods--could tip the balance in his favor.

Same for women even if they're pissed about Hillary not getting the nod. Not to mention the millions of black voters themselves who could push him over the top in swing states like Florida, Ohio, Pennsylvania, etc.

I'm not saying it would be easy--nor am I saying there aren't plenty of racists in the good Ol' US of A who would rather Obama be serving them food than running the country, but times change, and demographics change. There was a time no one believed a Catholic could ever be elected and Kennedy proved them wrong.

If I was too harsh judging your rant and assuming you were a racist and you're not--I apologize. And I'm glad you agree that our current president is an embarrassment.

i would only say don't be so incredibly cynical (and that's a lot from me, considering i;m cynical about most things) to say that Obama CAN'T win.

He can indeed, and whether or not that's a good thing I really don't know. If McCain weren't such a stubborn horse's ass about the War I might be tempted to actually vote for him.

You're still right about those reviews, btw.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: midnight sun Date: Feb 18, 2008 2:49pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Reviewing shows(again!)

hey grendel,

voting: you're right, never know unless you try...the good fight if there ever was one

reviews: personally, i don't feel comfortable writing a review without listening to a show at least a half dozen times or so...this pretty much rules out ever writing a review for what i opine to be a "bad" show...water find it's own level

btw, will be interesting to hear the cynical voice of reason on the air sometime...be well

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: grendelschoice Date: Feb 19, 2008 2:36am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Reviewing shows(again!)

Hey Midnight,

Always great to hear from you. Hope all is well in the land of...

Love your review policy--that way I know if you give 4 stars or better to a show it's bound to be a winner, based on your strict standards.

of course subjectivity always enters into it--one may love the 17-minute Sugaree's of 1977 better than the shorter but perhaps more concise versions of 1972 or post-1980, but a good review will reflect that.

Keep on keepin' on!

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: NoiseCollector Date: Feb 18, 2008 2:18pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Reviewing shows(again!)

Yeah let's make a big deal out of me posting my songs instead...

It's quite simple:

VERIFIED EMAIL ADDRESSES FOR CREATING A LOGIN

Failure to implement that feature is careless and intentionally negligent, period.

80% of these instant new users will disappear...

I rest my case, the court is definitely out of order.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Tito&Smokey..... Date: Feb 18, 2008 2:15pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Reviewing shows(again!)

why do you call me a racist?...where have i insulted someones race before?

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: grendelschoice Date: Feb 18, 2008 2:19pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Reviewing shows(again!)

Dude, read your own rant.

Then go find a black person and tell him to his face what you said: That Obama shouldn't be nominated because, being black, he can't win. Wait a beat, and if you haven't been punched out yet, see if the black person feels you're a racist.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: DA_REAL_TITO Date: Feb 18, 2008 2:20pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Reviewing shows(again!)

DA BETTA QUESTION IS WHEN HAVENT U? UR ALMOST AS SCUMMY AS DA DUDE IN THIS PIC. ALMOST........ (LOOK FAMILIAR?)


Attachment: DA_DIRTY_DOUCHE.jpg